So I have been busy!

 

I haven’t been writing – but it is for a very good reason. I have been super busy starting a Multimedia documentary company with Matt… talk about both fun and stress all in one package! At the same time as getting that going – or I should say the reason we did this is because we started shooting initial interviews on our documentary about people living with epilepsy!! We have discussed this project for about 4 years but only now are in a position to get it going! I have been writing the proposal, meeting with animators and interview participants and searching for fiscal sporship and grants to apply for. All this while working full-time! So I am essentially having to give up TV – which if you know me is no small feat. I am basically down to the occasional 15 minutes of John Stewart or Colbert and maybe a drama around 11 pm. But that is it. Anyway, all this is to say that I have not just been sitting around  – or on an endless bike ride as Wen seems to think…LOL. I had said to Wen that I was giving up this blog because of all the other writing I was doing right now – but I think that I am going to try to write at least once a week to keep myself on track.

 

I have actually made a great step toward improving my health after three weeks of totally slacking off. I found out that Oxford will cover 100% of a nutritionist if I have family history of heart conditions, diabetes and other illness that benefit from preventative care so I said – sign me up! I found a really nice nutritionist named Lisa through ZocDocs.com that takes Oxford and met with her last night. She was really great and had a good sense of humor. I told her about this blog and the losses and gains of the year. I am still down – but not at the 50 lb mark I worked so hard to get to. I talked to her about my good and bad experience with Weightwatchers… too much freedom and not enough guidance when I am only able to do the on-line system.

Together we worked out a food plan that is similar to what I was doing before – but at least I feel like it is being monitored by a medical professional. She also put a nix on any ideas / fantasies about rapid weight loss. She basically said that she feel and has seen that people are able to lose more weight and keep it off only by making slow gradual changes.

A girl can dream….

I know that this is the voice of reason – however I always have this secret desire to suddenly lose all my 150 pounds in three months and be stunningly slender by Fall…. yeah, I know…. I know… Anyway – the current plan for me goes like this:

 

Breakfast (300 cal)

1 egg or 1/2 cup egg whites

1/2 to 1 cup non – starchy veggies

1 oz cheese

Salsa

1 light English muffin or a fresh fruit.

OR

1 cup Plain Greek Yogurt

1 cup Fresh Berries

1 Cup Fiber Cereal (Fiber One)

1 tsp Agave or Truvia.

Morning Snack (200 Cal)

A Medifast Bar or Shake Plus String Cheese or 10 Almonds

Greek Yogurt with a Fruit

Lunch (400-500 cal)

4-5 oz lean protein

a fruit or yogurt

2-3 cups non-starchy veggies

1-2 servings health fat (1/4 avocado or 2 t salad dressing)

Mid Afternoon Snack (200 cal)

Medifast Shake or Bar and nuts or string cheese

or

mini microwave popcorn

or

1 packet plain oatmeal with nuts

Dinner (400-500 cal)

4-6 oz lean protein

veggies / salad w/ 1-2 tsp dressing

or

Something off the Steamed Menu Chinese

or

Sashimi with Salad and Edamame

Dessert! (200 cal)

a Drink or Wine

or

Frozen Yogurt

or anything that fits that calorie

She also said that if I find myself in a place where I can’t find what I planned I can eat something that basically fits the range of calories we set – just try for high protein and lower carbs. She emphasised that I should choose one dinner a week to have whatever I want and then stay on track the rest of the time. Basically she does not want me to feel deprived because that is when I tend to over eat or binge.

I am not over thrilled about the Medifast bars  / shakes mainly because I have to order them rather than buy them at the store. I know why she likes them. They have the best 1 to 1 ratio between carbs and protein… the ones I found for today (ZonePerfect and South Beach) are high protein but have a 2 to 1 ratio between carbs and protein. I figure that since they are within the calorie mark for now they are OK. But I e-mailed her to see what she thought. I will order some of the Medifast bars soon.

 

Leave a comment